April 13, 2020:

The Big Ten Cancer Research Consortium recently appointed Kari B. Wisinski, MD, associate professor of hematology/oncology, Department of Medicine at University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health, as chair of the consortium’s Steering Committee. She succeeds Al B. Benson III, MD, professor of medicine-hematology/oncology at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, who completed his one-year term.

Peter G. Shields, MD, deputy director, The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center-Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Richard J. Solove Research Institute (OSUCCC-James), will serve as vice chair of the Steering Committee for one year and as chair the following year.

The Big Ten CRC Steering Committee is composed of one researcher from each member institution. The Steering Committee meets on a regular basis to review activities of the consortium and decide matters of policy. The Steering Committee determines the criteria for approving concepts for development with the Big Ten CRC.

Dr. Wisinski is a medical oncologist at the University of Wisconsin Carbone Cancer Center in Madison, Wis., with expertise in breast cancer. She currently serves as sponsor-investigator of the Big Ten CRC study, BTCRC-BRE18-337, “Phase 2 Trial with Safety Run-In of Gedatolisib Plus in Advanced Triple Negative or BRCA1/2 Positive, HER2 Negative Breast Cancers.” The study is now open to accrual at several Big Ten CRC sites. Dr. Wisinski has been active with the Big Ten CRC since its founding and serves as co-chair of the consortium’s Breast Cancer Clinical Trial Working Group.

Read more about Dr. Wisinski and UW Carbone Cancer Center.

Dr. Shields, a thoracic medical oncologist, oversees the scientific research programs of more than 340 cancer researchers and their teams from 11 of Ohio State’s 15 colleges. His research focus and interests are in how cancer forms and how to prevent it, with an emphasis on developing tests to identify people who are at the greatest risk of cancer.

Read more about Dr. Shields and OSUCCC-James.

“The Big Ten CRC Steering Committee plays a vital role in establishing research priorities and criteria for the consortium,” said Ruth O’Regan, MD, chief scientific officer for the Big Ten CRC and division chief of hematology, medical oncology and palliative care at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health. “We are grateful to Dr. Wisinski and Dr. Shields for their commitment and leadership in evaluating and elevating the novel cancer research of the consortium.”

About the Big Ten Cancer Research Consortium: The Big Ten Cancer Research Consortium was created in 2013 to transform the conduct of cancer research through collaborative, hypothesis-driven, highly translational oncology trials that leverage the scientific and clinical expertise of Big Ten universities. The goal of the Big Ten Cancer Research Consortium is to create a unique team-research culture to drive science rapidly from ideas to new approaches to cancer treatment. Within this innovative environment, today’s research leaders collaborate with and mentor the research leaders of tomorrow with the unified goal of improving the lives of all patients with cancer.

About the Big Ten Conference: The Big Ten Conference is an association of world-class universities whose member institutions share a common mission of research, graduate, professional and undergraduate teaching and public service. Founded in 1896, the Big Ten has sustained a comprehensive set of shared practices and policies that enforce the priority of academics in the lives of students competing in intercollegiate athletics and emphasize the values of integrity, fairness and competitiveness. The broad-based programs of the 14 Big Ten institutions will provide over $200 million in direct financial support to more than 9,800 students for more than 11,000 participation opportunities on 350 teams in 42 different sports. The Big Ten sponsors 28 official conference sports, 14 for men and 14 for women, including the addition of men’s ice hockey and men’s and women’s lacrosse since 2013. For more information, visit www.bigten.org.